Take Me Out to the Ball Game

It’s Opening Day for Major League Baseball and I couldn’t be more excited. I still remember attending my first baseball game at the age of seven on June 23, 1990. I sat about 20 rows behind the backstop at Fenway Park in Boston, and Dwight Evans hit a walk-off, two-run home run in the bottom of the tenth inning to give the Red Sox a 4-3 win. As baseball season kicks off today across America, I catch myself thinking back to that afternoon.

Negro Leagues Baseball Commemorative Folio (click to order)

Opening Day is a great time to reflect on your favorite baseball experiences. For stamps, it’s a big year for the national pastime. On July 20, the Postal Service will release the Major League Baseball All-Stars Forever® stamps, which feature Joe DiMaggio, Larry Doby, Willie Stargell, and Ted Williams. The beautiful 44-cent Negro Leagues Baseball commemorative stamps, which were issued in 2010, are also available online. Can’t you just smell the peanuts and hotdogs?

Major League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc.